ArmchairConcerts… keep the music playing!

Dear Friends,

As the days get shorter and the weather turns cooler, it’s the perfect time to come inside and enjoy some new selections from our SOR ArmchairConcerts collection! Our latest program features two uplifting and inspiring masterpieces: the beloved Eine Kleine Nachtmusik serenade by Mozart, and the brilliant octet by Felix Mendelssohn–a true showcase for our talented SOR musicians. These works were performed at our concerts in September 2020, and now you have the opportunity to enjoy them in the comfort of your home.

Stay healthy!… Yours in Music,
Maria,   Artistic Director, SOR

W.A. Mozart: Eine Kleine Nachtmusik  K525 (1787)

Romanza (Andante)
Menuetto (Allegretto)
Rondo (Allegro)

Margaret Baldridge, violin
Maria Larionoff, violin
Jennifer Smith, viola
Adam Collins, violoncello

Felix Mendelssohn: Octet in E flat major, Op. 20 (1825)

Allegro moderato ma con fuoco
Scherzo: Allegro leggerissimo

Maria Larionoff, violin
Carrie Krause, violin
Margaret Baldridge, violin
Loy Koch, violin

Jennifer Smith, viola
Lisa Shull, viola
Fern Glass Boyd, cello
Adam Collins, cello

The next three pieces come from our February 2020 concert,  A Portrait of Beethoven. They are the nostalgic, lilting Serenade of Sir Edward Elgar, written in 1892; the evocative String Quartet #2 of Philip Glass, composed in 1983 and arranged by the composer for string orchestra, and concluding with the power and drama of Beethoven’s Op.18 #4 String Quartet, arranged for orchestra by B. Lieberman—a masterpiece that perfectly mirrors our turbulent times!

Sir Edward Elgar: Serenade for Strings in e minor, Op. 20 (1892)

Allegro piacevole

Philip Glass: String Quartet #2 “Company” (1983)

(arr. for orchestra by the composer)
I quarter = 96
II quarter = 160
III quarter = 96
IV quarter = 160

Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet in c minor, Op.18 #4 (1801)

(arr. for orchestra by B. Lieberman)
Allegro ma non tanto
Andante scherzoso quasi allegretto
Menuetto: Allegretto
Allegro: Prestissimo